1. What is franchising?

Franchising refers to a situation where, upon agreement between two parties, the franchisee pays the franchiser a Franchise Fee (which may include the fees for participation, promotion and advertisement, the right to use the franchise name, store location assessment, training, leasing costs for equipment and fixtures), in order to take advantage of being able to use the franchiser’s brand name or trade mark and operate or provide services under the franchised rights. Furthermore, the franchisee must operate in accordance with the operating model provided by the franchiser, while the franchiser has the obligation to provide the franchisee with the respective rights and support needed to supervise its operation, as a means to ensure that the brand name is operated in accordance with the company’s policies.

2. Types of franchising

There are generally two types of franchising: (a) production distribution franchises and (b) business format franchises.

a. Under the Production Distribution Franchises model, the relationship between the franchiser and the franchisee is similar to that between a supplier and agent. The franchisee may sell products, brand names or services belonging exclusively to the franchiser, but this type of franchising does not confer to the franchisee the right and technical know-how to develop products and services. Production distribution franchises are usually suitable for the distributors of soft drinks, mobile phone agencies and petrol stations.

b. Under the Business Format Franchise model, apart from enjoying exclusive rights to sell the product, brand name or service, the franchisee may also be authorised to produce and develop products or services itself. This franchising model is the most commonly used, for instance, in fast food restaurants, retail stores and restaurants.

3. Advantages enjoyed by SME franchisees

  • SME franchisee will be able to benefit from certain advantages including the franchiser’s reputation, brand value, patent rights, registered trade mark, technology transfer, well-developed management systems and target customer group in the exploration of international brand business.
  • A SME may also avail itself of the opportunity to diversify from the traditional business model and be innovative.
  • A SME can benefit from the training programmes, business operations and management support systems.
  • The franchisee can also enjoy some of the economic benefits derived from franchising, e.g. savings to be made by bulk purchasing and collective advertising.

4. Factors to be considered by SMEs wishing to franchise

In the process of selecting a franchiser, apart from considering the preferential conditions provided, the SME should also take into account other factors, to find the most suitable business plan to support the business development. Factors taken into consideration include:

  • The reputation of the brand,
  • The background of the franchiser,
  • Its operating methods and financial state,
  • Stability of product supply,
  • Whether the prices are reasonable,
  • The relationship between the franchiser and its other franchisees
  • Potential of market development

Whatever business strategy an enterprise has chosen, it should clearly understand and be aware of the different kinds of risks and competition.

5. What can enterprises do if they have insufficient capital for operating a franchising business?

One of Macao SAR Government’s long term policies is to support SMEs’ development. To support their sustainable development, the SAR government has launched a number of supporting measures, including SME Credit Guarantee Scheme, SME Credit Guarantee Scheme Designated for Special Projects and the SME Aid Scheme (details please refer to: www.economia.gov.mo).

The recently amended Enterprise Financing Loan Interest Subsidy Scheme has been launched and opened for application on 8 June 2009. Subsidy criterion also applies to the signing of a commercial concession contract and franchising contract to encourage local SMEs to enhance their competitiveness through franchising operations.

6. What are the development potential and conditions for franchising in Macao

Following the completion of various major tourism and leisure facilities and resort hotels and driven by the rapid development of tourism, convention and exhibition industry, related industries such as retail, department stores as well as food and beverage have become new opportunities for overseas investors to establish their business in Macao. With the vigorous development in the local consumer market, international brand names and chain enterprises are entering Macao’s market in large numbers and developing their business by franchising.

Supplement V to the Mainland and Macao Closer Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA), signed in July 2008, has incorporated co-operation on brand promotion between the Mainland and Macao under Trade and Investment Facilitation, thus further enhancing economic exchanges between the two sides through brand co-operation. Under Macao’s favourable business environment, simple and low taxation, vast and diversified consumer market, versatile international trade and economic ties, as well as other business-friendly factors such as efficient and comprehensive business services, franchising operations have great development potential.

7. How local brands can make use of Macao’s strength as a service platform to explore business through franchising?

In accordance with the development trend of franchising operations, local traditional brands or original designer brands can make use of Macao’s strength as a regional service platform to promote local products in overseas markets through various operation models such as franchising and brand agencies. Co-operation partnerships may be established to explore the Mainland, local and overseas market networks of local enterprises. Local brands may also co-operate with Mainland, local and overseas enterprises and investors to explore franchising to explore ways to further develop in regional co-operation and make better use of Macao’s business service platform.

1. 什么是特许经营?

「特许经营」是指在连锁总部与加盟商双方订定协议的前提下,加盟商透过支付连锁总部特许费用(包括:特许加盟费、广告促销费、特许权使用费、店址评估费、培训费、设备及固定设施的租用费等),得以享有使用连锁总部的品牌或商标去经营产品或提供服务之特许经营权,在这种经营模式下,加盟商需依循连锁总部提出的运作模式经营业务,而连锁总部则有责任向加盟商赋予相关之权利、提供支援措施及对加盟商的经营活动进行监管,以确保品牌业务之正常经营。

2. 特许经营有那些模式?

「特许经营」模式一般可分为:a. 商标、品牌特许 (Production Distribution Franchises) 和 b. 经营模式特许两种。

a. 商标、品牌特许模式中的连锁总部及加盟商两者间属于供应商与代理商的关系。加盟商可销售连锁总部独有的商标产品、品牌商品或服务,但并不授予加盟商开发产品及服务之技术及权利。商标、品牌特许的常见行业包括:汽水批发商、手机代理商及加油站等。

b. 经营模式特许指加盟商除可享有销售连锁总部的专利商标产品、品牌商品或服务之权利外,更可被授予生产、开发产品或服务之经营模式及营运程序等技术。此外,经营模式特许亦是特许经营行业中较常见的模式,例如:快餐店、便利店、零售店、餐厅等。

3. 本地中小企利用特许经营作为加盟商可享有那些优势?

  • 中小企业利用特许经营作为加盟商,可通过连锁企业品牌之信誉、品牌价值、品牌商标、专利权、技术转移、成熟之品牌管理模式及客户网络等既有优势,开拓品牌业务;
  • 透过加盟品牌业务,促使中小企业本身从传统经营模式中转型及创新,缔造发展机会;
  • 中小企业也可受惠于连锁总部提供的培训计划、业务经营及管理支援;
  • 中小企业加盟后更可享受特许经营模式带来的规模经济效益,例如:规模採购优惠、集体宣传推广效应等,降低经营成本;

4. 中小企业在选择加盟特许经营业务时,需考虑那些因素?

中小企业在选择加盟特许经营业务时,除了考虑特许经营所提供的各项优势条件外,还需作其他方面的考虑,以拟定适合中小企自身发展的业务计划。考虑因素包括:

  • 品牌的知名度和商誉
  • 总店的背景
  • 经营及财务状况
  • 产品供应的稳定性
  • 定价合理程度
  • 总店其他特许经营店的经营情况
  • 市场的发展空间等

当然,无论以任何模式开拓业务,企业亦需清楚认识到市场上存在的各种风险及竞争。

5. 企业如若成为特许经营加盟商,资金不足怎么办?

澳门特别行政区政府一直将扶助中小企业的发展列为长远的施政方针。为支持中小企持续发展,特区政府推出多项支援措施,包括:中小企业信用保证计划、中小企业专项信用保证计划及中小企业援助计划。(请参阅www.economia.gov.mo)

而新修订的《企业融资贷款利息补贴》制度已于2009年6月8日生效及接受申请,其中,“签订商业特许合同及特许经营合同”列入为可获补贴的投资项目之一,以鼓励本地中小企透过特许经营.提升竞争力。

6. 特许经营在澳门具备那些发展潜力和条件?

随着近年本澳多个大型旅游休闲设施及渡假村酒店相继落成启用,以及在旅游、会展等服务行业快速发展的带动下,零售、百货以及餐饮等相关行业相继成为海外投资者在澳门开拓业务的新机遇。在本澳消费市场发展蓬勃的契机下,愈来愈多外地品牌及连锁企业进军澳门市场,并以特许经营等方式拓展业务。

此外,2008年7月签署的《内地与澳门关于建立更紧密经贸关系的安排》(CEPA)补充协议五中亦把推动两地在品牌领域的合作补充列入CEPA贸易投资便利化领域内,鼓励透过品牌合作推动内地与澳门经济发展和促进两地经贸交流。在澳门完善的营商环境、简单低税制度、庞大及多元消费市场、广泛国际经贸联繫、便捷和周全的商贸服务等方面的有利因素下,特许经营企业模式具有广阔的发展空间及潜力。

7. 如何利用澳门平臺优势,透过特许经营协助本地品牌开拓业务?

随着特许经营模式的发展趋势,本澳的传统品牌企业、原创设计品牌等亦可利用澳门区域服务平臺优势,通过以特许经营、品牌代理等业务经营模式,把本地品牌推广到海内外市场,并藉此通过建立合作伙伴体系,共同拓展澳门品牌企业在海内外的市场网络。同时,本澳品牌企业与海内外企业、投资者等开展特许经营合作,也为澳门企业参与区域合作提供更广阔的空间,也有助更好地发挥澳门商贸服务平臺的优势。