01/02/2023 - 16:23:49
You are here: HomePublications Issue 72 – Oct. 2018 CONVENTIONS & EXHIBITIONS23rd MIF yields impressive results

Search Issues

23rd MIF yields impressive results

MI72-P24

The 23rd Macao International Trade and Investment Fair (MIF) and the 2018 Portuguese-speaking Countries Products and Services Exhibition (Macao) (2018 PLPEX) were held concurrently at the Venetian Macao from 18 to 20 October. The three-day event drew delegates from around the world to explore business opportunities in Macao.

A total of  75 agreements were signed during the three days involving co-operation projects between governments and associations in convention and exhibition, cross-border e-commerce, tourism, cultural and creative industries, agriculture, green technology, human resources training, health big data research, manufacturing, as well as promotion and agency of products. More than 400 business-matching sessions were conducted at the Business-matching area.

This year’s MIF was again organised under the theme of “Co-operation – Key to Business Opportunities”, covering a total area of 24,000 square metres and more than 1,500 exhibition booths. Mozambique and Mainland China’s Fujian Province were invited to be the “Partner Country” and “Partner Province” respectively. A number of high-level themed forums, conferences and promotion seminars were held at MIF, including the 8th Asian Trade Promotion Forum (ATPF) Joint Exhibition.

MI72-P25a

Mozambique was the ‘Partner Country’ of the 23rd MIF

MI72-P25b

The event featured many industry-related and themed commodities exhibition zones and pavilions for the first time, such as the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area Business Zone, Guizhou Congjiang Pavilion, Smart Zone, Youth Entrepreneurship Zone and the Featured Finance Pavilion. They attracted a number of participants who wished to take a closer look and network with exhibitors.

At the opening ceremony, the Secretary for Economy and Finance of the Macao SAR Leong Vai Tac expressed his hope that, as a Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries, Macao would continue to play its role to connect and bridge China and Portuguese-speaking Countries, accomplish its historic missions and take advantage of new development opportunities in the new era in order to serve the country.

He added that he expected the city to make the most of its strengths, keep bringing in quality exhibitions and conventions in line with the “Priority to Conventions” strategy and build effective business-matching platforms for local and overseas enterprises and trade promotion organisations, so they could explore co-operation possibilities and share opportunities for their advancement. Mr Leong said he believes that in helping the country further open up to the outside world, Macao will achieve sustainable development of moderate economic diversification.

The two events assisted enterprises in embracing the opportunities brought by the development of the “Belt and Road” initiative and the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, and utilising the strength of Macao’s role as a Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform to explore more business openings.

Various activities were held concurrently, namely the “Mozambique, Fujian and Macao Trade and Investment Forum”, the “8th Jiangsu – Macau · Portuguese-speaking Countries Business Forum”, the “15th World Summit of Chinese Entrepreneurs” and the “4th Young Entrepreneurs Forum of China and Portuguese-speaking Countries”. The events fostered networking and exchanges of latest information and promoted trade and economic collaborations between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries, thus creating more business and development opportunities for enterprises.

MI72-P26

Chairman of Macau•China Diamond and Gem Exchange, Su Wei

Growing the jewellery industry

An inauguration ceremony of the Macau · China Diamond and Gem Exchange (MDGE) was held at the MIF. Chairman Su Wei said that MDGE was registered this year and after more than six months of preparation, they have decided that the inauguration would be held at the MIF. Mr Su noted that after the participation in MIF for the first time this year, they would join the event every year and invite people from all over the world to come for a visit, so more people would learn that Macao has established a world-class trading platform for diamonds and gems. He also called upon merchants as well as academic and training institutions to affirm Macao’s importance in the diamond and gem market.

Mr Su emphasised that following the changes in the industry and global economy, Macao is gradually developing into a leading global diamond and gem exchange platform. He explained that Macao is one of the few relatively economically advanced economies that does not have import tariffs, value-added tax or turnover tax, and has a strong capacity to receive goods. Macao, as a part of China, is backed by the Mainland Chinese consumer market. Mr Su is confident that foreign businesspeople will be attracted to Macao for its familiar and straight-forward legal environment under the “One Country, Two Systems” policy.

He also said that the China Diamond and Gem Exchange (CDGE) will give Macao even more of an edge. It is bringing in professional teams that will turn Macao into an important location for diamond and gem exchanges and trade. In the future, they will foster co-operation between global gemstone certification colleges and Macao’s academic institutions in opening gemstone identification courses to give local youths more career opportunities and to train talents for the Exchange to enhance Macao’s competitiveness.

Speaking from his knowledge of the industry, Mr Su said they expect to see around 1,000 international jewellery wholesalers, sellers and retailers to register in Macao as members of the Exchange. He also predicts 200 to 250 enterprises to register during the first year of its establishment. Given the global diamond and gem trade, he estimates that with the efforts of MDGE and CDGE, MDGE’s business volume will reach up to US$1.28 billion in the first two years and US$30 billion to US$50 billion annually when the industry matures in Macao. He even suggested that the jewellery business could become Macao’s second biggest industry after the gaming sectior in the future.

MI72-P27

Fujian was the ‘Partner Province’ of the 23rd MIF

Mr Su added that Macao’s close relationship with Portuguese-speaking Countries is also an advantage. They have been discussing with the government of Angola, a major diamond producer, on ways to co-operate. He also intends to make use of Macao’s relationship with Mozambique to assist in the regularisation of the export of its red gemstones for them to reach customers. Thanks to MDGE’s connection with Macao, they could also help Brazil, a large gem producer, create new sales channels into Mainland China.

Business intelligence systems

iFood Macau showed and promoted the Mainland intelligent point of sale (POS) system Keruyun at this year’s MIF. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Lei Iam Leong said the system, which uses cloud and big data technologies, gives businesses an intelligent way to handle bookings, queues, orders, checkout and takeout processes and other procedures. It also improves their inventory and financial management as well as operational efficiency. It can be connected with mobile phones and employers can find out about their daily business revenues via the Keruyun App – anywhere and anytime. iFood also plans to expand the applicability of the intelligent POS system in other areas such as retail.

MI72-P28

Chairman and CEO of iFood Macau, Lei Iam Leong

Mr Lei said the system has been well-received by local businesses since it was introduced to the city in early 2018. Now Keruyun has more than 100 users including traditional Chinese restaurants, cafés and diners. He believes as a platform, MIF will help attract attention to the system and expects the number of users to reach 500 in 2019.

iFood Macau has also set up an operations team of four to five members to offer round-the-clock enquiry and maintenance services. They will expand the team as their business grows.

As a first-time MIF participant, Lucky Technology Ltd introduced the Mainland business intelligence wireless POS (WPOS) system at this year’s event. Business Development Manager Raymond Ip said unlike the POS usually seen in shops, WPOS not only supports payment and authentication, but also works like a smart phone where users can download an array of available mobile apps. Examples of such apps include: takeout services, member marketing, group purchase and sales promotions. It saves business owners the trouble of installing multiple devices while reducing their operating costs and raising operating efficiency. The WPOS in Macao accepts payments via WeChat Pay. He anticipates that UnionPay will also be accepted by the end of 2018.

Currently nearly 100 local businesses are using the system and 40 taxis have installed it. The manager revealed that it was challenging to promote the system at the start, but many drivers have commented that it has effectively boosted their operating efficiency and made it easier for them to find out their daily operating expenses.

Mr Ip said participating in MIF helped promote WPOS’ strengths to a wider group of businesses and he hopes to increase the number of taxis with the app to 200 towards the end of 2018. Next, Lucky Technology will target wet markets to the benefit of Macao’s e-payment development.

The 24th MIF and 2019 PLPEX will take place from 17 to 19 October 2019.

MI72-P29

Business Development Manager of Lucky Technology Ltd, Raymond Ip

05/02/2023 - 20:35:47
你现在的位置: 首页Publications 第72期 – Oct. 2018 会议展览第二十三届MIF取得丰硕成果

搜寻期数

第二十三届MIF取得丰硕成果

MI72-P24

「第二十三届澳门国际贸易投资展览会」(23rd MIF)及「2018年葡语国家产品及服务展(澳门)」(2018 PLPEX)于10月18至20日假澳门威尼斯人同期举行,一连三天的展会吸引了世界各地客商共聚澳门,寻找商机。

三天展会签约中心共达成75份签约,签约项目涉及范畴包括会展、跨境电商、旅游、文创、农业、环保技术、人才培育、健康大数据研究、产品生产、推广及代理销售以及政府与协会间等合作项目。配对洽谈区进行了超过400场洽谈。

今届MIF继续秉承「促进合作,共创商机」的大会主题,展览面积达24,000平方米,设置超过1,500个展位;邀请到莫桑比克和福建省分别担任「伙伴国」与「伙伴省」,期间举行了多场系列专题论坛、会议和推介会,同期还举办「第八届亚洲贸促论坛(ATPF)联展」。

MI72-P25a

莫桑比克为第二十三届MIF的「伙伴国」

MI72-P25b

今届MIF场内首设「粤港澳大湾区商务区」、「贵州省从江县展区」、「智能展区」、「青创展区」及「特色金融展区」等多个产业专题及主题商品展区,吸引众多与会者驻足交流。

澳门经济财政司司长梁维特在开幕式上致辞表示,期望澳门作为中葡平台将继续发挥精准联系功能,努力把握新时代赋予的历史使命和发展机遇,服务国家所需,发挥澳门所长,继续落实「以会议为先」策略,引进更多优质展会落户澳门,为海内外企业和贸促机构提供有效对接平台,共商合作,共谋发展,共享机遇,在更好地为国家扩大对外开放服务的同时,实现自身经济适度多元可持续发展。

本届两展会助力企业接轨「一带一路」建设与「粤港澳大湾区」发展机遇,并借澳门中葡平台优势,拓展商机。期间成功举办了「莫桑比克-福建省-澳门贸易投资论坛」、「第八届江苏-澳门•葡语国家工商峰会」、「第十五届世界华商高峰会」、「第四届中国-葡语国家青年企业家论坛」等活动,促进了各方认知交流最新资讯,推动中国与葡语国家之间商贸合作,为企业提供更多合作商机与发展机遇。

MI72-P26

中国钻石与宝石交易所(澳门)董事长苏伟

发展珠宝交易产业

在MIF举行期间,澳门.中国钻石与宝石交易所于展场内举行揭牌仪式。中国钻石与宝石交易所(澳门)董事长苏伟表示,澳门.中国钻石与宝石交易所于今年注册,经过大半年的筹备,决定在MIF期间举行揭牌仪式。今年是中钻所首次参加MIF,相信今后每年都会来澳参加,并向全世界发出邀请,让大家知道澳门建立了全球一流的钻石和宝石交易所平台,欢迎相关客商、学术机构和培训机构关注澳门在钻石及宝石行业的地位。

苏伟指出,随着行业和全球经济变化,澳门慢慢形成了成为全球一流钻石及宝石交流平台的条件。澳门是全球少有没有征收进口关税、增值税、流转税及经济相对发达的地区,接待能力非常强,而且澳门是中国的一部份,背靠内地强大的消费市场,在「一国两制」下,对于外国客商而言,他们觉得澳门拥有一个熟悉且舒适的法律环境,是一个具吸引力的市场。

软件方面,苏伟表示,中钻所将专业团队和力量引到澳门,在两方面结合下,可以将澳门发展成全球钻石及宝石交流和买卖的重要场所。未来亦会促进全球知名的宝石鉴定学院与澳门院校合办珠宝鉴定课程,令澳门年青人有更多的就业选择和方向,亦为澳门钻交所培养人才,持续加强澳门的竞争力。

交易额方面,苏伟表示,以其对行业的认知来看,目标是希望有1,000家全球性的珠宝批发、销售及零售企业在澳门注册成立公司,成为交易所会员,并预计澳钻所成立首年会有200至250家企业注册。根据目前全球的钻石及宝石交易量,加上澳钻所和中钻所的努力,首两年澳钻所的交易额可达12.8 亿美元,未来当产业在澳门成熟以后,年均交易额可达300亿至500亿美元,或许珠宝交易日后能成为继博彩业后澳门的第二大产业。

MI72-P27

福建省为第二十三届MIF的「伙伴省」

苏伟表示,澳门另一优势是与葡语国家关系密切,安哥拉是全球非常重要的钻石产国,他们现在正与安哥拉政府商讨合作方式。此外,他希望通过澳门与莫桑比克的关系,协助当地红宝石出口规范化,使当地的红宝石能为客户所用;巴西的宝石产量则非常大,但一直未能发展中国市场,故此,透过澳钻所及澳门的关系,可协助巴西建立销售渠道。

智能商务系统

食在澳门在今届MIF展示及推广内地智能收银机系统「客如云」,其董事长兼行政总裁李荫良表示,该系统利用云端及大数据技术,让商号在预订、排队、点餐、收银及外卖等流程实现智能化操作,协助企业进行仓储及财务管理,提升营运效率。该系统亦可与手机连结,雇主不论身在何地,都可透过「客如云」的移动程式,即时了解当日业务的营运状况。除了餐饮业,食在澳门也计划将该智能收银系统延伸至零售业等其他领域。

MI72-P28

食在澳门董事长兼行政总裁李荫良

李荫良表示,该系统自2018年初引进澳门以来,得到商户的热烈反馈,目前有超过100家商户使用「客如云」,包括茶楼、咖啡店及茶餐厅等,透过MIF这平台,可让更多商户关注这系统,希望2019年商户数目可增至逾500家。此外,食在澳门设立了四至五人的团队,全天候24小时向使用「客如云」的商户提供查询及维修服务,随着业务扩展,团队人数也会有所增长。

澳门旺科技有限公司今年首次参加MIF,引入内地商务智能终端系统「旺pos」。旺科技业务发展经理叶曦平介绍,与平时在商店见到的pos(销售点终端)机不同, 旺pos除了有支付及验证功能,更像一台「智能电话」,设有多项移动程式供商户下载,提供外卖、会员营销、团购及促销等服务, 让商户不再需要安装多部设备,

有助降低成本、提高营运效益。澳门的「旺pos」机现时接受「微信支付」的电子支付方式,预料2018年底可开通银联的支付服务。

目前有约100家本地商号使用该系统,也有40部的士安装了「旺pos」机,叶曦平形容推广初期充满挑战,但不少的士司机使用后认为系统有效提升他们的营运效率,更容易掌握日常的营运开支。他续称,透过今次参展MIF,可让更多商户了解「旺pos」的技术优势,希望2018年底在的士的应用层面可增长至200部,未来亦计划进军街市市场,协助推动澳门电子支付发展。

24th MIF与2019 PLPEX将于2019年10月17至19日举行。

MI72-P29

旺科技业务发展经理叶曦平