01/02/2023 - 15:09:27
You are here: HomePublications Issue 304 – Aug. 2019This Issue’s Topical Story

Search Issues

This Issue’s Topical Story

Tin304_p2a

2018 ICCA Report: Macao Maintains Competitive in International Convention Market

The convention and exhibition industry (also known as the MICE industry) is one of the fastest growing industries in Macao over the recent 10 years. It is also an important component of the moderate diversification of Macao’s economy. The MICE activities have been enhancing itself in terms of number, quality, internationalisation and level of marketisation of events. The number of events grew from around 260 in 2002 to over 1,400 in 2018, attracting over 2,100,000 participations. Among these activities, 60 exhibitions were held in Macao in 2018, involving more than 1,700,000 participations, up by 10% year over year. In the first quarter of 2019, 10 exhibitions were held in Macao, which were joined by approximately 235,000 attendees, increased by 22% year over year.
As a department designated to comprehensively coordinate the development of Macao’s MICE sector, the Macao Trade and Investment Promotion Institute (IPIM) has already joined the International Congress and Convention Association (ICCA) in 2012, in a bid to carry out bilateral exchange with venue managers and professional conference organisers from all around the world, as well as international conference association. IPIM can also access ICCA’s online database which integrates information of more than 17,000 international conventions, and look for potential conferences which Macao can bid for and stage them in Macao.
ICCA is one of the authoritative organisations in the international MICE sector. It was founded in 1963. Over 1,100 governmental organisations, MICE companies and centres from around 100 countries and regions are members of ICCA. There are 10 ICCA’s members in Macao which include government departments, hotels, professional conference organisers and convention service providers. Every year, ICCA releases ranking of numbers of conferences held by international associations in different countries or regions/cities, and the ranking has become one of the authoritative indexes for the global MICE sector, and one of the key references for professional conference organisers when they are choosing venues for hosting events.
According to the International Meetings Market 2018 Report, published by the International Congress and Convention Association (ICCA) in May this year, the number of international meetings held in Macao recognised by ICCA in 2018 stands at 39, remaining virtually unchanged as compared to 2017. The number of conferences in the recent three years remains at the same level. Despite the fact that the total number of international association conferences in 2018 dropped slightly, Macao’s market was able to maintain good performance, which demonstrates that the city remains competitive in the international convention market. In 2018, Macao ranked the 71st among cities worldwide and the 17th in Asia Pacific.

Tin304_p2b

Tin304_p3a

Convention and exhibition industry (MICE industry) is one of the fastest growing emerging industries in Macao

Sci-tech-themed Convention in Macao Grows Remarkably in Numbers
According the ICCA statistic report, the number of international sci-tech-themed, medical and scientific conferences account for over 43% of accredited conferences – which is the biggest proportion among all ICCA-approved conventions held in Macao – with 29% of international conventions have been held in Macao, manifesting that conference organisers consider Macao an ideal destination for hosting international conventions. Such a tendency shows that Macao is prepared to join and support the construction of the “Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area International Technology and Innovation Centre” with its advantages in hosting conferences, conducive to co-operation and exchange in technology and innovation areas.
Each year, ICCA collect statistics of international association conferences held in different countries and regions/cities around the world. ICCA has a high standard of assessment. Only conferences involving no less than 50 attendees held by international associations/organisations (excluding private companies) in three or more different countries and regions/cities will be included in the statistics. As a result, the statistics of conferences held in different places grow and decline periodically every 2 to 4 years. Since this report only reveals numbers about conferences held by international associations, ICCA also recommends the industry to refer to other statistics in order to have a full picture of the industry’s performance.
The Macao SAR Government has been pro-actively nurturing the city’s MICE sector. In 2016, the SAR Government initiated the strategy of giving priority to convention, in a bid to strengthen the power of policy support, accelerate the cultivation of the MICE industrial chain, assist the industry in bidding for more internationally influential MICE activities to be hosted in Macao, constantly improving the professional level and efficacy of MICE activities, and attract quality business travellers who are with more spending power. After the opening of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge and the implementation of the Outline Development Plan for the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area started, impetus will be introduced in the MICE sector in the Greater Bay Area and Macao’s MICE industry will be further improved. Synergistic effect of regional collaboration will become more and more apparent and the customer bases of both regions will also be enhanced.

Tin304_p3b_eng

Macao’s rank in the ICCA Report

Tin304_p3c_eng

Macao’s ranks in ICCA Reports from 2016 to 2018

Tin304_p3d

Macao’s MICE sector has been growing in its quality and quantity

05/02/2023 - 20:24:48
你现在的位置: 首页Publications 第304期 – Aug. 2019本期专辑

搜寻期数

本期专辑

Tin304_p2a

2018ICCA报告:本澳于国际会议市场继续保持竞争力

会展业是过去十年澳门发展较快的新兴产业之一,亦是推动澳门经济适度多元的重要内容。近年无论在活动数量、质量、国际化和市场化程度上都得到提升。会展数量由2002年约260项增加至2018年的1,400多项,吸引超过210万人次参与,其中,2018年在澳举办的展览共60项,吸引超过170万人次参与,按年上升10%;2019年首季在澳举办展览共10项,入场观众约23.5万人次,按年同期上升22%。
澳门贸易投资促进局作为全面统筹本地会展业发展的专责部门,自2012年起已加入国际会议协会(ICCA),藉此与世界各地的会议管理者、专业会议组织者和国际会议相关机构进行双向交流,并透过拥有超过17,000项全球会议数据的ICCA在线数据库,积极搜寻及竞投潜在会议在澳门举行。
ICCA是全球会议业界权威组织之一,成立于1963年,至今已拥有约100个国家及地区、逾1,100个政府组织、会展相关公司、会展中心加入成为会员。澳门现时有10个单位为ICCA会员,涵盖政府部门、酒店、专业会议组织者及会议服务供货商。此外,每年ICCA针对全球各国家及地区/城市所统计撰写的国际协会会议数目排名报告,为全球会议产业具权威与公信力指标之一,亦是专业会议组织者选取理想会议举办地的重要参考数据。
国际会议协会(ICCA)于今年5月发布的《2018年国际协会会议市场年度报告》显示,2018年共有39项在澳门举行之国际协会会议活动获ICCA认可,与2017年的数目相约,近三年会议数目继续保持平稳。尽管2018年全球国际协会会议数目有所下调,但本澳仍维持相若成绩,反映澳门于国际会议市场继续保持竞争力。2018年本澳于全球城市排名第71位、亚太区域城市排名第17位。

Tin304_p2b

Tin304_p3a

澳门会展业近年的「质」和「量」均有所提升

本澳科技主题会议数目显著提升
经检视国际会议协会(ICCA)年度报告的内容,了解到近年来澳举办的ICCA认证国际协会会议中,以科技、医学及科学为主题的国际会议占比重最多,超过获认证会议总数量的43%。当中29%的国际会议曾在澳门举办,反映会议筹组人认为澳门适合举办国际会议,这将有助透过澳门会议优势助力和参与「粤港澳大湾区国际科技创新中心」建设,促进科技创新的合作交流。
ICCA每年针对全球各国家及地区/城市的国际协会会议场次进行统计,该会评比要求严格,列入统计的会议必须由国际性协会/组织定期举办(不含公司会议)、轮流在3个或以上国家及地区/城市召开及参会人数不少于50人。因此,各地的会议场次约每隔2年至4年,即出现周期性消长。而该报告仅反映国际协会所举办的会议,ICCA亦建议业界可综合参考其他统计数据,以更全面了解整体会议行业的表现。
对于近年本地重点培育和着力发展的会展业,澳门特区政府于2016年确定「会议为先」的发展策略,强化政策扶持,加快培育会展业产业链,支持业界竞投更多世界各地具影响力的会展活动落户澳门,不断提升会展活动的专业水平和成效,以吸引更多优质的高端商务旅客。随着港珠澳大桥开通以及《粤港澳大湾区发展规划纲要》的实施,相信会对大湾区会展业发展带来促进作用,进一步优化澳门会展软硬实力,有效发挥区域联动效应,促进客源互引。

Tin304_p3b_sim

澳门在ICCA年度报告排名

Tin304_p3c_sim

澳门2016年至2018年ICCA排名比较表

Tin304_p3d

会展业是近年澳门发展较快的新兴产业之一