Strengths and Development Outline

Basic Information about Macao

– Macao is located on the south-eastern coast of China, along the west bank of the Pearl River estuary. It is 60km and 145km away from Hong Kong and Guangzhou respectively.

– It covers a total area of 30.3 square kilometres, comprising of the Macao peninsular as well as two outlying islands namely Taipa and Coloane.

– As at the end of June 2016, the total population stood at 652,500, with a composition mainly of Chinese, Portuguese and other nationalities making up of around 7.7% of the total population.

– The official language is Chinese and Portuguese, with Cantonese being the language in daily use. English is also widely used in the business, tourism and commercial sectors.

– It is located in the south-east monsoonal region with a hot and wet summer, sunny, dry autumn and cool winter with little rain.

– Sophisticated infrastructure facilities provide convenient sea, land and air transportation networks. Telecommunications and Internet provides easy networking.

– Macao’s standard of public health care is comparable to that of developed countries and regions. The government provides a primary health care system which meets European public health standards.

– There is a labour force of 397,800 and a working population of 390,400, with an unemployment rate of 1.9% recorded for the second quarter of 2016.

Source: Macao Statistics and Census Services

Development Orientation

– The National Thirteenth Five-year Plan expresses support for Macao in developing as a World Tourism and Leisure Centre as well as a Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries, and promoting the sustainable development of Macao’s moderate economic diversification.

– The national development strategy of the “Belt and Road” initiative provides new opportunities for the development of Macao’s external economic co-operation and accelerates the development of moderate economic diversification. Macao can utilise the strengths of the principle of “One Country, Two Systems”, as well as the advantages of being a free port for international trade and its close ties with Portuguese-speaking Countries and the vast number of returned overseas Chinese, to participate in the development of the “Belt and Road” initiative, and broaden the potential for further development.

– The implementation of the Mainland and Macao Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement (CEPA) and the Pan-Pearl River Delta Regional Co-operation Framework Agreement, the Outline of the Plan for the Reform and Development of the Pearl River Delta, as well as the Framework Agreement on Co-operation between Guangdong and Macao, will further enhance the economic integration of the Pan PRD region.

Economic Situation and Business Strengths

– Sixteen years since the Handover, Macao has recorded stable economic growth. GDP has grown 9 times from US$6 billion before the Handover to over US$55 billion in 2014. Macao has maintained a low unemployment rate. There were increases in terms of the number of incoming visitors, retail sales figures as well as residents’ median income.

– Macao has been rated by the World Trade Organisation (WTO) as one of the most open trade and investment regimes in the world. It is a free port and an independent tariff zone, with a corporate profit tax rate of no more than 12%, and a far-reaching international marketing network and close ties with the Portuguese-speaking Countries, its role as a trade and economic co-operation service platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries has received increasing recognition over the years.

– Macao maintains trade and economic ties with over 100 countries and regions around the world and is a member of more than 50 international organisations. Business operation principles are in line with international practices, along with simple investment and business procedures and identical administrative procedures for both local and overseas investments, all contribute to making the city a desirable business environment for investors and business developers from around the world. According to the 2016 Index of Economic Freedom released by The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation, Macao ranks the 37th among 178 worldwide economies and ranks the 9th in the Asia Pacific region.

Main Economic Indicators

Infrastructure

Airport

The Macau International Airport, located in Taipa, commenced operation in November1995. Since then, it has rapidly established itself as a vital link between the Pearl River Delta, the fastest growing economic region in the world, and the rest of the world. It is a fully functional 24-hour airport. An 11,000-foot ILS CAT II equipped runway, constructed in strict accordance with ICAO standards, is capable of handling long haul flights. The airport is equipped with a full range of passenger and cargo facilities designed to handle six million passengers and 160,000 metric tonnes of freight a year.

Ferry Terminals

Macao’s ferry terminals include the Outer Harbour Ferry Terminal located in the Macao peninsula, the Inner Harbour Ferry Terminal and the Inner Harbour Freight Handling Terminal with many piers for loading and unloading cargo, the Taipa Temporary Ferry Terminal in Pac On, as well as the Ka-Ho Oil Harbour consists of the Fuel Oil Terminal, Cement Terminal, Ka Ho Container Port, and Power Plant Terminal in Coloane.

Road Network and Bridges

Three bridges and a strip of reclaimed land link the Macao peninsula to Taipa and Coloane.

Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge

With the construction started in December 2009, Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge, located in the Lingding Sea, is a major cross-sea link connecting Hong Kong, Macao and Zhuhai, as well as a new road to link the east and west coast of the Pearl River. The 29.6 kilometre-long structure will allow travellers to take less than 30 minutes to get from the Hong Kong International Airport to Macao. The construction of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge will facilitate industrial development in the Pearl River Delta region.

Macao Light Rapid Transit System

The construction for the Macao Light Rapid Transit (LRT) was started in February 2012, the work on the three sections in Taipa began in the first half of 2012. Its service, carrying capacity and equipment will facilitate its integration with the regional transportation network, as well as coping with the needs of the region, highlighting regional integration, simulation and the development needs of Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao cosmopolitan circle and the quality living circle.

Communications

A wide spectrum of telecommunications services are available including an international telex service, telegraph, internet, satellite television, with International Direct Dialling (IDD) service connecting to over 246 countries and regions.

The SAR government issued 4G telecommunication licences to four telecom companies in June 2015. The licences, effective immediately, last for eight years and the relevant services are now available.

营商优势和发展概况

澳门基本资料

-位于中国东南部沿海,地处珠江口西岸,距香港60公里,广州145公里。

-总面积30.3平方公里,由澳门半岛、凼仔和路环两个离岛组成。

-截至2016年6月底,总人口为65.25万人,居民以华人为主,葡籍及其他国籍人士约占7.7%。

-官方语言为中文和葡文,粤语(广东话)为日常用语。英语在贸易、旅游和商业领域广泛应用。

-位于东亚季风气候区,夏季炎热多雨,秋季晴朗清爽,冬季少雨稍冷。

-基础设施完善,海、陆、空交通四通八达,电讯、互联网便利。

-医疗卫生水平与大多数先进国家和地区相若。政府的普及医疗系统已达到欧洲公共医疗卫生标准。

-2016年第二季,劳动人口为39.78万人,就业人口为39.04万人,失业率为1.9%。

数据源: 澳门统计暨普查局

发展定位

-国家「十三五」规划建议,支持澳门建设世界旅游休闲中心、中国与葡语国家商贸合作服务平台,促进澳门经济适度多元可持续发展。

-配合国家实施「一带一路」发展战略,为澳门开展对外经济合作和加快经济适度多元发展提供了新契机。澳门可发挥「一国两制」、国际贸易自由港以及与葡语国家关系密切、东南亚归侨众多的优势,参与「一带一路」建设,进一步拓展自身的发展空间。

-随着《内地与澳门关于建立更紧密经贸关系的安排》(CEPA)和《泛珠三角区域合作框架协议》、《珠江三角洲地区改革发展规划纲要》以及《粤澳合作框架协议》的进一步落实,澳门与内地,特别是泛珠三角区域的经济融合进一步深化。

经济概况和营商优势

-澳门回归近16年来,经济稳步发展,GDP由回归前约60亿美元发展至2014年的550多亿美元,增长了9倍。失业率维持在较低水平;访澳旅客人数、零售业销售额、居民收入中位数等经济指标均有所提升。

-澳门被世界贸易组织(WTO)评为全球最开放的贸易和投资体系之一,享有自由港、单独关税区地位,企业所得税最高仅为12%,国际市场网络广泛,与葡语国家联系紧密,中葡经贸合作服务平台的作用日益得到多方认同和肯定。

-澳门与全球100多个国家和地区保持贸易往来,所参加的国际性组织达50多个,商业运作准则与国际惯例相适应,投资营商手续简便,外地与本地投资者成立企业的程序相同,为来自世界各地的投资者发展业务提供理想的营商环境。据美国传统基金会和《华尔街日报》联合发布的2016年度「全球经济自由度指数」报告,澳门在全球178个经济体中排名第37位,在亚太地区排名第9位。

主要经济指标

基础设施

机场

澳门国际机场位于凼仔岛,自1995年正式投入运作以来,迅速地成为全球经济发展最快之珠江三角洲与世界各地之间的重要桥梁。澳门国际机场全日二十四小时运作。其配以二类仪表着陆系统及全长一万一千英呎之跑道,乃根据国际民航组织标准建成,可让远程直航客机升降。机场拥有全面之客运及货运设施,每年可处理六百万乘客及十六万公吨货物。

码头

分别是位于澳门半岛的外港客运码头、由多个码头组成的内港,货物装卸均在此运作;位于凼仔北安的临时客运码头以及位于路环的九澳港包括油库码头、水泥厂码头、九澳货柜码头以及发电厂码头。

道路与桥梁

澳门半岛与凼仔、路环两个离岛,经由三座大桥及一片填海土地相连接。

港珠澳大桥

2009年12月正式动工的港珠澳大桥,位于珠江口伶仃洋海域,是连接香港、澳门和珠海的大型跨海通道,也是连接珠江东西两岸陆路运输的新通道。大桥全长约29.6公里,日后来往香港国际机场与澳门将只需少于30分钟。港珠澳大桥的落实,有利推动珠三角内的产业发展。

澳门轻轨系统

2012年2月,澳门轻轨路段建造工程正式全面启动,凼仔三个路段的建设工程也先后于2012年上半年动工。其服务定位、载运能力和设备配置,也将提升至与区域交通网络无缝衔接的新定位,以配合并适应区域融合,突显区域一体化、同城化以及构建粤港澳都会圈和优质生活圈的发展需要。

通讯

国际电传、电报、互联网、卫星电视等电信服务一应俱全,澳门的国际长途电话(IDD)可直拨246个国家和地区。

2015年6月,特区政府正式向四间电讯营运商发出第四代流动电话通讯技术(4G)牌照,有效期八年,规定于2015年内开始提供服务。